David Bowie RIP

It is with great sadness that I write this brief news article on the passing of one of our greatest music idols, David Bowie.

The news was posted on his official Facebook page and stated:

“David Bowie died peacefully today surrounded by his family after a courageous 18 month battle with cancer. While many of you will share in this loss, we ask that you respect the family’s privacy during their time of grief.”

His new album Blackstar was released to great acclaim on his 69th birthday which was on Friday.

The outpouring of grief has been a constant source on social media all of today with so many tributes being made to the star from all over the world.

It has taken me most of the day to consider what to write, so I’ve decided to let his music speak rather than my words.  My memories of him are mainly from the 80’s onwards and I loved the tracks Modern Love, China Girl and his collaboration with Queen on Under Pressure. I cannot claim to be a massive fan, but I have a great admiration for his talent and innovation along with an appreciation of his long and varied career.  Rest in peace David Robert Jones.

Leave a Reply

