The Sounds Familiar Music Road Trip #2

Our trip has now moved on and left sunny Las Vegas far behind. We’re now in the city that never sleeps. Yes that’s right, welcome to New York.

The weather is certainly very different here at the moment and so is the volume. I’ve not heard so many car horns since I left London! But what about the music?

Well, today we went to Yankee Stadium and watched the baseball with thousands of other people. The game lasted something like 4 hours and the Yankees won 7-5. What I found interesting (apart from the actual game) was the music that was played throughout.

image

Baseball and ice hockey (which I watch often) amongst others uses music to get the crowd behind the home team. There’s nothing more uniting than hearing the crowd all clap and stamp their feet to ‘We Will Rock You’ by Queen to get the game pumped up. I always enjoy this part of the game.

Being someone who used to play the keyboard and organ when I was younger, I also have a particular fondness for the over the top organ music that is also played during games too. In another life I think I would have loved to be the organ player at the local ice hockey stadium or maybe even the Blackpool Tower.

One of the things I find interesting is the music that’s played during the game. Songs that you wouldn’t expect to hear seem to crop up and get the crowd singing along.

Today I noted down that these tracks made an appearance: ‘Notorious’ by Duran Duran, ‘White Lines’ by Grandmaster Flash and ‘Song 2’ by Blur. I also had to laugh when the woman behind me was joining in with ‘Mony Mony’ by Billy Idol rather badly!

During the game they have lots of little segments where fans join in and one of them featured various folks in cowboy hats dancing to ‘Cotton Eyed Joe’. And the crowd loved it! Now, if you played that song in a bar or club at home you’ll clear the dance floor in seconds. Guaranteed.

And that’s the power of music. Whether it’s good or bad, if you can get people joining in and enjoying it then it’s served its purpose. I do wonder sometimes though. I remember hearing ‘My Sharona’ by The Knack at an ice hockey game once. Have you ever really listened to the lyrics of that song? Big question mark…

 

Leave a Reply

